Rendered from the All Frontier Global corridor registry · every figure below carries a numbered source
India and Australia trade under an Economic Cooperation and Trade Agreement — ECTA to both governments, which name it in mirror order and are both recorded here rather than one being normalised[1][2] — in force since 29 December 2022[1]. Two official statistical series describe the corridor, one Australian in Australian dollars covering goods and services, one Indian in US dollars covering merchandise only, and the registry forbids blending them: they are rendered separately below and never summed, converted or reconciled. Two figures on this page are derived rather than stated, and each appears only alongside the derivation that produced it. The Australian commodity baskets carry a recorded extraction conflict — the fact sheet’s export and import headings came back transposed on repeated fetches — and that conflict is attached to the tables themselves rather than settled out of sight. This page renders the corridor registry record: the agreement, the unconcluded successor negotiation, both series side by side, utilisation, mechanics, logistics, and the figures no official source would supply.
Australia-India Economic Cooperation and Trade Agreement (ECTA); also rendered by Austrade as 'Australia-India Economic Cooperation and Trade Agreement (AI-ECTA)'.[1]
The two governments use mirror-image names for the same instrument. Australia leads with 'Australia-India'; India leads with 'India-Australia'. Both are recorded rather than one being normalised.[1]
India-Australia Economic Cooperation and Trade Agreement (ECTA), styled 'IndAus ECTA' in the Indian signature release and 'Ind-Aus CECA' for the successor negotiation.[2]
PIB's own headline on the entry-into-force release transposes the words as 'Economic and Cooperation Trade Agreement'. Recorded as published.[2]
Signed 2 April 2022[2]; entered into force 29 December 2022[1].
Signature: Corroborated by the DFAT CECA page: 'ECTA was signed on 2 April 2022 and entered into force on 29 December 2022.' Also corroborated by PIB PRID=2233417 (27 February 2026): ECTA was 'signed in April 2022, marked India's first trade agreement with a developed economy'.[2][4]
Verbatim: ECTA was 'signed in April 2022, marked India's first trade agreement with a developed economy'. This is an Indian framing; no Australian source located makes an equivalent claim.[3]
Each government states the same two concessions in its own unit of account: Australia in percentage of its exports by value, India in percentage of its tariff lines. The registry records all four statements separately and forbids merging them into a single coverage figure.
'Over 85 per cent of Australian goods exports by value to India are now tariff free, rising to 90 per cent by 1 January 2026'. The outcomes overview states: 'Indian tariffs on over 90 per cent of Australia's goods exports to India by value will be eliminated' and 'Tariffs on over 85 per cent of our exports will be eliminated on 29 December 2022, and tariffs on a further 5 per cent of our exports will be phased to 0 per cent over 2, 4 or 6 years.'
Australia states its access in terms of PERCENTAGE OF ITS EXPORTS BY VALUE. India states the same concession in terms of PERCENTAGE OF ITS TARIFF LINES. The two framings are not the same measure and are recorded separately — see the Indian framing field below and Not yet verified.
'India granted preferential market access on 70.3% of its tariff lines, covering 90.6% of trade value'.
The 90.6% of trade value is close to the Australian 'over 90 per cent ... by value' but is not stated to be the same measure by either government. The 70.3% of tariff lines has no Australian counterpart figure. Do not merge these into a single coverage statement.
'96 per cent of imports from India are now tariff free, rising to 100 per cent by 1 January 2026'.
Australia's schedule reached full elimination on 1 January 2026, inside the window covered by this file.
'Australia granted preferential market access on 100% of its tariff lines, corresponding to 100% of imports from India.' 'Of this, 98.3% of tariff lines became duty-free immediately upon implementation, while the remaining 1.7% (113 tariff lines) are being phased out over five years.' From 1 January 2026, 'all Indian exports are eligible for zero-duty market access'.
The Indian and Australian statements of Australia's own concession differ in their day-one figure: India says 98.3% of tariff lines were duty-free immediately, Australia says '96 per cent of imports from India are now tariff free'. One is a share of LINES and the other a share of IMPORTS. Both are recorded; neither is reconciled by any source located.
1 January 2026 — on the Australian side, tariffs on 100 per cent of imports from India; on the Indian side, Australian goods exports 90 per cent tariff free by value.[1][6]
'Australia has offered commitments across around 135 sub-sectors'.[3]
Indian statement of AUSTRALIA'S offer. Not corroborated by any Australian source located.[3]
'Australian service suppliers will benefit from full or partial access across more than 85 Indian services sectors and subsectors.'[8]
'These results are commercially significant for up to $14.8 billion worth of Australia's current merchandise trade destined for India each year.'[8]
Article 12.1: the Joint Committee is 'composed of government representatives of the Parties at the level of senior officials or, when agreed by the Parties, at the level of Ministers'. Article 12.2: it shall 'meet within 1 year of entry into force of this Agreement. Thereafter, it shall meet every 2 years unless the Parties agree otherwise'.[9]
Article 12.4 functions: assess and monitor implementation; review operation; consider trade and investment improvements; recommend amendments; supervise subcommittees; adopt rules of procedure. No separate standalone review clause with a fixed horizon was located in Chapter 12.[9]
Primary official sources for the agreement position: [1][4][10][11][8][12][13][14][15][9][16][17][18][7][19][20][21][22][23][6][24][25][2][26][5][27][28][29][30][3]
Australia-India Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA); Indian usage 'India-Australia Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (Ind-Aus CECA)'.[4]
UNDER NEGOTIATION, NOT CONCLUDED, NO SIGNATURE AND NO TARGET DATE STATED BY EITHER GOVERNMENT. DFAT's current negotiations page states: 'Negotiations are ongoing for a Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA), which will build upon ECTA outcomes to capitalise on the potential for closer economic ties between Australia and India.' The DFAT ECTA page words it as: 'Negotiations have now resumed for an ambitious Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA)'.[4][1]
'They re-affirmed their commitment to progressing an ambitious, balanced and mutually beneficial Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA)'.
THIS IS THE LATEST OFFICIAL STATEMENT ON CECA LOCATED IN THIS PASS, dated 9 July 2026, five weeks before the accessed date. Prime Ministers Narendra Modi and Anthony Albanese, Third Australia-India Annual Summit, Melbourne, 8-10 July 2026. The identical formulation appears in the Australian text at pm.gov.au. The wording is a re-affirmation of commitment to PROGRESSING the agreement; it announces no conclusion, no round, and no date.
'discussions towards concluding a Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA) with India'.
Australian ministerial-level wording, 13 August 2025. This is a multi-partner trade communique in which India is one item among several; it states no CECA status beyond 'discussions' and no timing.
11th Round — held in New Delhi from 18-23 August 2025.
Verbatim: 'The 11th Round of India-Australia Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (Ind-Aus CECA) negotiations' was 'held in New Delhi from 18-23 August 2025'. Chapters covered: 'Goods, Services and Mobility, Digital Trade, Rules of Origin, Legal and Institutional Provisions, Environment, Labour, and Gender'. The release states both partners 'will continue the negotiations in virtual intersessions' and names NO date or venue for a 12th round. NO OFFICIAL RECORD OF A 12TH ROUND WAS LOCATED IN THIS PASS — see Not yet verified.
10th Round — held in Sydney, on five tracks.
Recorded for sequence only. The round date was not extracted in this pass.
'nine rounds' completed as at the First Joint Committee Meeting, 4 May 2024.
Discussions were held 'at the chief negotiators level' after 'nine rounds', with the goal of reaching 'a balanced outcome' and exploring 'areas of effective co-operation in various sectors, going beyond the traditional approach'.
CECA 'aims to build on ECTA by expanding market-opening opportunities for business and industry in both countries.'
The roadmap PDF carries no explicit publication date on its face; it references events through November 2024.
Series owner: Australia — Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, from DFAT-adjusted Australian Bureau of Statistics data. Period as published: Calendar year 2024. Basis: Goods and services combined[10].
| Measure | Value | Period |
|---|---|---|
| Australia’s exports to India | $35.5 bn | 2024 |
| Australia’s imports from India | $17.5 bn | 2024 |
| Two-way total | $53 bn derived, not stated — derivation below | 2024 |
| Two-way total | $49.1 bn directly stated, not derived[4] | 2023 |
Exports: Verbatim: 'Australia's exports to India totalled $35.5 billion' in 2024. Currency is printed on the page as a bare '$'; read as Australian dollars because the publisher is DFAT, but the page does not print 'A$'. See Not yet verified.[10]
Imports: Verbatim: 'imports from India totalled $17.5 billion in 2024.' Same currency caveat as above.[10]
The stated 2023 total: DIRECTLY STATED, NOT DERIVED. Verbatim: 'India is Australia's fifth largest trading partner with two-way trade in goods and services valued at $49.1 billion in 2023.' This is the only officially stated two-way goods-and-services total located on either side in this pass. Note it is for 2023, one year older than the component figures above.[4]
'India is Australia's fifth largest trading partner'[4]
Stated in the same sentence as the $49.1 billion 2023 two-way figure, so the rank is on a 2023 goods-and-services basis.[4]
India ranks 5th as a destination for Australian exports and 12th as a source of Australian imports.[11]
Printed on the fact sheet as 'Destination Ranking: 5' and 'Source Ranking: 12', on the 2023-24 reference period. The asymmetry — a top-5 export destination but only the 12th-largest import source — is the structural signature of this corridor and is consistent with the roughly 2:1 surplus Australia runs.[11]
Series owner: Australia — DFAT-adjusted ABS data. Period as published: Australian financial year 2023-24 (July 2023 - June 2024). Basis: Goods and services combined[11].
| Measure | Value | Period |
|---|---|---|
| Australia’s exports to India | A$34.2 bn | 2023-24 |
| Australia’s imports from India | A$15.9 bn | 2023-24 |
Imports: A$15.9 billion. Same direction-assignment conflict and same corroboration as the export figure above.[11]
This financial-year pair is one year older than the calendar-2024 pair above and is retained because it is the only Australian source located that carries a commodity-level basket. Do not mix the two periods.[11][10]
Series owner: India — Ministry of Commerce and Industry, via the Press Information Bureau. Period as published: FY2024-25 (April 2024 - March 2025). Basis: MERCHANDISE ONLY — excludes services[6].
| Measure | Value | Period |
|---|---|---|
| Total bilateral merchandise trade | US$24.1 bn | FY2024-25 |
| India’s exports to Australia | US$8.5 bn | FY2024-25 |
| India’s imports from Australia | US$15.6 bn derived, not stated — derivation below | FY2024-25 |
| India’s merchandise balance | deliberately not recorded — deriving it would compound one derivation on another | FY2024-25 |
Total: Verbatim: 'During 2024-25, total bilateral trade stood at USD 24.1 billion, while India's exports to Australia recorded an 8% growth over the previous year.'[6]
Exports: Verbatim: 'India's exports to Australia have more than doubled, rising from USD 4 billion in FY 2020-21 to USD 8.5 billion in FY 2024-25.' Growth of 8% over FY2023-24.[6]
US$19.3 bn for FY2025-26 April-February[6].
FY2020-21: USD 12.2 billion total merchandise trade, India's exports USD 4 billion. FY2022-23: USD 26 billion total. FY2023-24: USD 24 billion total, India's exports growing 14%. FY2024-25: USD 24.1 billion total, India's exports USD 8.5 billion.[6][24]
Verbatim from the two-year release: 'Since its signing, bilateral merchandise trade has more than doubled, surging from USD 12.2 billion in 2020-21 to USD 26 billion in 2022-23.' And: 'Total trade, however, moderated in the year 2023-24 to USD 24 billion in 2023-24, with India's exports to Australia growing by 14%.' The peak on this series is FY2022-23; the corridor has NOT regained that level on the Indian merchandise series in the two full years since.[24][6]
India's exports to Australia have roughly doubled across the ECTA period while total bilateral merchandise trade has been flat to slightly down from its FY2022-23 peak. Both statements are the Indian government's own; neither is contradicted by any Australian source located, but neither is corroborated by one either, because the series are not comparable.[6]
'to achieve the target of trade to reach AUD 100 billion by 2030 between India and Australia'[24]
'By the end of 2025 Australian exporters to India will have saved around $2 billion in tariffs due to ECTA'[17]
| Measure | Value | Period |
|---|---|---|
| Australia’s investment stock in India | $27.6 bn | End 2024 |
| India’s investment stock in Australia | $50.6 bn | End 2024 |
Verbatim: 'Australia's stock of investment in India was $27.6 billion' at end of 2024. Currency printed as a bare '$'.[10]
Verbatim: 'India's total investment in Australia was $50.6 billion' at end of 2024. India's investment stock in Australia is roughly 1.8 times Australia's stock in India — the reverse of the goods-trade asymmetry, in which Australia exports roughly twice what it imports.[10]
Independent statement of the Australian two-way total: 'India is Australia's fifth largest trading partner with two-way trade in goods and services valued at $49.1 billion in 2023.' Also independently confirms 'ECTA was signed on 2 April 2022 and entered into force on 29 December 2022.'
Operational confirmation of entry into force: 'The Australia-India Economic Cooperation and Trade Agreement (ECTA) benefits, including tariff reductions, started 29 December 2022. Further reductions started 1 January 2023.'
Independently repeats India's exports to Australia growing '8% in FY 2024-25' and 'preferential market access across 100% of Australian tariff lines'; adds gems and jewellery exports rose '16% during April-November 2025' and that 'Australia has offered commitments across around 135 sub-sectors'.
Australian-side text of the same 9 July 2026 joint statement recorded from PIB, confirming the CECA formulation and the ECTA sentence: leaders 'welcomed continued growth in two way trade under the India-Australia Economic Cooperation and Trade Agreement (ECTA), and reducing non-tariff barriers'. Confirms summit dates 8-10 July 2026 in Melbourne.
The registry records conflicting and unreconciled official statements as conflicts. Nothing below is averaged, bridged or decided between; where the registry itself records a basis for the reading it uses, that basis is shown in its own words.
A$34.2 billion. DIRECTION ASSIGNMENT CARRIES A RECORDED CONFLICT — the automated extraction of this two-column PDF returned the export and import headings transposed on repeated fetches. The assignment used here is the one corroborated by three independent official statements: (a) the DFAT India country brief describes Australian 'total exports (excluding price volatile coal)', making coal an Australian export; (b) the same brief states 'Education is Australia's largest service export to India, valued at $9 billion in 2024', making education-related travel an Australian export; (c) the fact sheet's own ranking fields place India 5th as an export destination and 12th as an import source, which requires the larger column to be exports. See Not yet verified for the full conflict record.
THE TWO GOVERNMENTS' HEADLINE TOTALS CANNOT BE RECONCILED AND MUST NEVER BE BLENDED. The Australian series gives $35.5 billion exports and $17.5 billion imports for calendar 2024, and a stated two-way total of $49.1 billion for calendar 2023, all goods and services in Australian dollars. The Indian series gives USD 24.1 billion for FY2024-25, merchandise only, in US dollars on an April-March year. The gap is roughly two-to-one. No official source located reconciles them, converts between them, or acknowledges the discrepancy. The largest single identified driver is education-related travel — an Australian services export of around A$8.9 to 9 billion that is entirely absent from the Indian merchandise series — but no official source quantifies the full bridge, and the residual after education is still large.
The Indian and Australian statements of Australia's own concession differ in their day-one figure: India says 98.3% of tariff lines were duty-free immediately, Australia says '96 per cent of imports from India are now tariff free'. One is a share of LINES and the other a share of IMPORTS. Both are recorded; neither is reconciled by any source located.
Australia states its access in terms of PERCENTAGE OF ITS EXPORTS BY VALUE. India states the same concession in terms of PERCENTAGE OF ITS TARIFF LINES. The two framings are not the same measure and are recorded separately — see the Indian framing field below and Not yet verified.
The 90.6% of trade value is close to the Australian 'over 90 per cent ... by value' but is not stated to be the same measure by either government. The 70.3% of tariff lines has no Australian counterpart figure. Do not merge these into a single coverage statement.
THE PAGE PRINTS '22 December 2022' FOR THE ABOVE-US$5 BAND AND '29 December 2022' FOR THE ABOVE-US$15 BAND. Entry into force was 29 December 2022 on four other official pages, so the 22 December date cannot be an entry-into-force step. It is recorded verbatim and is NOT silently corrected. See Not yet verified. Substantively: wine is liberalised by MINIMUM IMPORT PRICE BAND, not by volume quota, and NO BAND REACHES ZERO — the floor is 50% for the above-US$5 band and 25% for the above-US$15 band after nine years, so Australian wine still faces a substantial Indian tariff at the end of staging. The decade-long WPI indexation of the price bands means the real value of the concession erodes with Indian inflation between indexation events.
CURRENCY IS NOT PRINTED ON THE DFAT PAGES CARRYING THE HEADLINE AUSTRALIAN FIGURES. The India country brief prints a bare '$' for exports ($35.5 billion), imports ($17.5 billion), education services ($9 billion), duty savings ($310 million) and both investment stocks; the CECA page does the same for the $49.1 billion two-way total. These are read as Australian dollars because the publisher is an Australian government department and the fact sheet's parallel figures are explicitly denominated 'A$b', but no fetched page states the currency next to those numbers. Note also that the AUD 100 billion by 2030 target is stated in AUSTRALIAN dollars by an INDIAN release whose every other figure is in US dollars.
STRIKING OMISSION: COAL IS NOT NAMED IN EITHER INDIAN LIST OF KEY IMPORTS FROM AUSTRALIA, despite being A$16.1 billion and roughly 47 per cent of the Australian export basket on the Australian series. No official Indian source located names coal as a leading import from Australia in an ECTA context. This is recorded as an observed difference in what the two governments choose to publish, not as a contradiction of fact — neither government states the other is wrong. See Not yet verified.
Every valued basket on this page belongs to the Australian series, because it is the only series that publishes one: India names sectors and product lines for this corridor and attaches no commodity values to them. The two valued tables are also the tables carrying the recorded direction-assignment conflict, so each is published with that conflict attached directly beneath it, in the registry’s own words. The registry does not resolve the conflict and neither does this page.
| Commodity | Value |
|---|---|
| Coal | A$16.1 bn |
| Education-related travel | A$8.9 bn |
| Gold | A$2.8 bn |
| Vegetables (fresh, chilled, frozen) | A$0.8 bn |
| Copper ores & concentrates | A$0.7 bn |
| Recreational travel | A$0.7 bn |
| Iron ores & concentrates | A$0.5 bn |
| Commodity | Value |
|---|---|
| Recreational travel | A$2.9 bn |
| Refined petroleum | A$2.8 bn |
| Telecom & ICT services | A$1.4 bn |
| Professional, technical & other business services | A$1.2 bn |
| Medicaments (including veterinary) | A$0.7 bn |
| Jewellery | A$0.3 bn |
| Passenger motor vehicles | A$0.3 bn |
SECTORS ONLY, NO VALUES PUBLISHED. Top export sectors named: textiles, pharmaceuticals, chemicals and agricultural products. Newly emerging lines named: Calcined Petroleum Coke, High-Capacity Diesel Generating Sets, Air Liquefaction Machinery, gold studded with diamonds, turbojets. Gems and jewellery exports rose '16% during April-November 2025'.[6]
SECTORS ONLY, NO VALUES PUBLISHED. Key import categories named: base metals, raw cotton, chemicals, fertilisers and pulses. The two-year release names 'Metalliferous ores, cotton, wood and wood products' as raw materials that 'have fuelled India's industries'.[6][24]
This is the only corridor in the registry carrying measured preference-utilisation rates. They are three years old, undefined as to what they measure, and stated from one side only — all of which the registry records alongside them rather than behind them.
Verbatim: 'Exchange of preferential import data has commenced between both countries, highlighting the effective implementation of the agreement in 2023.' And: 'The data reveals export utilization at 79% and import utilization at 84%.'
THESE ARE THE ONLY OFFICIALLY STATED ECTA UTILISATION RATES LOCATED ON EITHER SIDE. They are stated from the Indian perspective and relate to calendar 2023 data. The release does not define whether 'export utilization' means the share of eligible Indian export value claiming preference, or the share of lines, or the share of shipments. No later utilisation figure was located, so as at 18 August 2026 the most recent measured utilisation evidence in this corridor is roughly three years old. By contrast, the India-UK corridor in this pipeline has no utilisation data at all — ECTA is the better-measured of the two, but only barely.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau — 'India-Australia ECTA marks two years of success', 29 December 2024
The First Joint Committee Meeting 'established an institutional mechanism, first of its kind for FTAs, for regular exchange of preferential import data on monthly basis.'
India claims this monthly preferential-data exchange is 'first of its kind for FTAs'. It is the mechanism that produced the 79%/84% figures above. No output of this mechanism has been published by either government since the 29 December 2024 release.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau — First Joint Committee Meeting under Ind-Aus ECTA, 4 May 2024
'Australians have saved over $310 million in duties on goods imported from India since ECTA entered into force.'
Cumulative since 29 December 2022. Currency printed as a bare '$'. This measures the benefit to AUSTRALIAN IMPORTERS of Australia's own tariff elimination; it is NOT the benefit to Australian exporters into India, which the DFAT roadmap projects separately at around $2 billion by end-2025.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) — India country brief
'Between 2022 and 2024, total exports (excluding price volatile coal) are up 95 per cent' and 'agricultural exports have skyrocketed to 146 per cent'. Industrial exports excluding coal 'increased by 84 per cent'. Total imports 'increased by 32 per cent', agricultural imports 'a 35 per cent increase', and non-diesel industrial products 'a 30 percent increase'.
NOTE THE EXCLUSION: the headline 95 per cent growth figure is stated EXCLUDING COAL, which is by a wide margin the single largest Australian export to India. Australia's published growth story for ECTA is therefore explicitly a non-coal story, and the corresponding all-inclusive growth rate is not published. The phrase 'skyrocketed to 146 per cent' is ambiguous as published — growth OF 146 per cent or growth TO 146 per cent of a base — and is recorded verbatim without interpretation.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) — India country brief
New export lines named by India include 'Calcined Petroleum Coke, High-Capacity Diesel Generating Sets, Air Liquefaction Machinery'. The two-year release names 'Gold studded with diamonds and turbojets' as evidence of diversification. Sectors reported as benefiting: textiles, pharmaceuticals, chemicals and agriculture, with electronics and engineering named as future potential.
India publishes diversification as NAMED PRODUCT LINES AND SECTORS, never as export values by commodity. No Indian commodity-level value for Australia-bound exports was located. India's exports to Australia grew 4.4% during April 2024 - February 2025 against the same period a year earlier.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau — ECTA celebrates 3rd anniversary of signing, 2 April 2025, and the two-year release of 29 December 2024
'Education is Australia's largest service export to India, valued at $9 billion in 2024.' In 2025 'there were 145,390 Indian student enrolments with Australian providers', representing 'approximately 16 per cent' of Australia's international student enrolments.
Education-related travel at A$8.9 billion on the 2023-24 fact sheet is the second-largest single Australian export line to India after coal, and larger than India's entire services export basket to Australia. It is invisible in the Indian merchandise series, which is the principal reason the two headline totals diverge so widely. The enrolment figure is a 2025 count against a 2024 value — different years, recorded as published.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) — India country brief
ECTA is an operating agreement, so its mechanics are live: origin thresholds, staging schedules, quota lines and mobility caps. Each entry is recorded as the registry states it, including the points where a DFAT summary page and the treaty text say different things and the registry keeps both.
Under Article 4.2 goods are originating if 'wholly obtained or produced in the territory of one or both of the Parties' (Article 4.4), or 'produced entirely in the territory of one or both of the Parties, using non-originating materials' that meet Article 4.3. Article 4.3(1) sets the general rule: non-originating materials must undergo 'at least a change in tariff sub-heading (CTSH) level of the Harmonized System' AND the 'QVC of the good is not less than 35 per cent of the FOB value as per build-up formula or 45 per cent of the FOB value calculated as per build-down formula'.
ECTA HAS A SINGLE HEADLINE VALUE-ADDITION THRESHOLD, WHICH DISTINGUISHES IT SHARPLY FROM THE INDIA-UK CETA IN THIS PIPELINE, WHERE NO UNIVERSAL PERCENTAGE EXISTS AND THE THRESHOLD IS SET PER PRODUCT LINE. Note the threshold is a PAIR, not one number: 35 per cent build-up OR 45 per cent build-down, and the two are not interchangeable because they are computed on different numerators. Quoting '35 per cent' alone without naming the build-up method is incomplete. The general rule is CUMULATIVE — CTSH change AND the value test — not an either/or, subject to the product-specific rules in Annex 4B.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) — ECTA official text, Chapter 4 Rules of Origin
Article 4.6 sets both methods. Build-down: 'QVC equals FOB value [minus] value of non originating materials over FOB value times 100'. Build-up: 'QVC equals Value of Originating materials over FOB value times 100'. Values are determined under the Customs Valuation Agreement and costs recorded under Generally Accepted Accounting Principles.
The build-up method counts only originating material value, so it yields a lower percentage for the same good than build-down, which is why its threshold is set lower at 35 per cent against 45 per cent.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) — ECTA Chapter 4, Article 4.6
Article 4.8(1): a non-textile good that fails the tariff-classification change is still originating if the 'value of non-originating materials ... does not exceed 10 per cent of the FOB value'. Article 4.8(2): for textiles of HS Chapters 50-63 the test is by weight — goods qualify if the 'total weight of all such material does not exceed 10 per cent of the total weight'.
TWO DIFFERENT 10 PER CENT TESTS ON TWO DIFFERENT BASES — value for general goods, WEIGHT for textiles. The DFAT business guide states the de minimis more loosely as 'If the value of all non-originating materials does not exceed 10 per cent of the value of the good, the product will qualify', which omits the textile weight variant. The treaty text governs.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) — ECTA Chapter 4, Article 4.8
Article 4.5 bilateral cumulation: 'Goods and materials originating exclusively in the territory of a Party ... incorporated in the production of a good in the territory of the other Party shall be considered to originate in the territory of the other Party'. Article 4.14(1)(a) requires goods be 'transported directly from the exporting Party to the importing Party'; Article 4.14(1)(b) permits transit through non-parties provided no 'subsequent production or other operation' occurs beyond unloading, reloading, storage, repacking, relabelling and operations preserving condition, with customs control maintained throughout.
Cumulation is BILATERAL ONLY — there is no diagonal or regional cumulation with third countries in ECTA. The direct-consignment rule matters operationally in this corridor because there is no officially designated direct shipping service between the two countries (see logistics), so transhipment through third-country hubs is the norm and must be documented to preserve origin.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) — ECTA Chapter 4, Articles 4.5 and 4.14
Article 4.19(1) provides for an 'issuing body or authority, as appropriate' designated by each Party; Article 4.1(i) defines this as a 'body or authority designated by each Party for issuance of Certificates of Origin'. Article 4.15(3) requires the certificate be 'in writing or electronic format', 'in the English language', 'specify that the good is originating and meets the requirements of this Chapter', contain the Annex 4A information, be 'valid for 12 months from the date on which it is completed or issued', 'apply to single importation of one or multiple goods', and 'bear a unique Certificate of Origin number'. Article 4.16(3): certificates are 'issued prior to or within 5 working days of the date of exportation', with retrospective issuance allowed up to 12 months post-shipment with documented justification.
ECTA USES THIRD-PARTY CERTIFICATION BY DESIGNATED BODIES, NOT SELF-CERTIFICATION BY EXPORTERS. This is a materially heavier compliance model than the registered-exporter approach used in some newer agreements, and the 5-working-day issuance window is tight.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) — ECTA Chapter 4, Articles 4.15, 4.16, 4.19
The DFAT business guide names the Australian issuing bodies as the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (ACCI), the Australian Industry Group (Ai Group), and Ozdocs. For the Indian side the guide names no issuing body and directs users to India's 'Central Board of Indirect Taxes & Customs'.
ASYMMETRIC DOCUMENTATION: the Australian issuing bodies are named specifically, the Indian ones are not named by any source located in this pass — only the supervising authority, CBIC, is identified. No DGFT public notice or CBIC circular designating Indian ECTA certificate-issuing agencies was located. See Not yet verified.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) — 'Australia-India Economic Cooperation and Trade Agreement: Guide to using ECTA'
Bottles above US$5: '150% tariff cut to 100% on 22 December 2022 and phased to 50% over 9 years'. Bottles above US$15: '150% tariff cut to 75% on 29 December 2022 and phased to 25% over 9 years'. The 'minimum import price will be indexed every 10 years based on Indian wholesale price index'.
THE PAGE PRINTS '22 December 2022' FOR THE ABOVE-US$5 BAND AND '29 December 2022' FOR THE ABOVE-US$15 BAND. Entry into force was 29 December 2022 on four other official pages, so the 22 December date cannot be an entry-into-force step. It is recorded verbatim and is NOT silently corrected. See Not yet verified. Substantively: wine is liberalised by MINIMUM IMPORT PRICE BAND, not by volume quota, and NO BAND REACHES ZERO — the floor is 50% for the above-US$5 band and 25% for the above-US$15 band after nine years, so Australian wine still faces a substantial Indian tariff at the end of staging. The decade-long WPI indexation of the price bands means the real value of the concession erodes with Indian inflation between indexation events.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) — ECTA benefits for Australian goods exporters
Coal: 'immediate elimination of tariffs on 29 December 2022' with 'phased elimination of tariffs on bituminous coal over 4 years'. LNG: 'tariffs locked at 0 per cent on 29 December 2022'. Alumina: 'immediate elimination of tariffs on entry into force on 29 December 2022'. Titanium dioxide: 'immediate elimination of tariffs on entry into force'. Metallic ores (manganese, copper, nickel, cobalt, aluminium, tin): 'immediate elimination of tariffs on 29 December 2022'. Critical minerals: 'Elimination of tariffs on 29 December 2022 for most critical minerals such as zirconium and titanium.'
'Locked at 0 per cent' for LNG and for barley and oats is a BINDING, NOT A CUT — the applied rate was already zero and ECTA prevents its re-imposition. This is a real but different concession from an elimination and should not be counted as a tariff reduction. Bituminous coal, the largest line in the corridor, was staged over 4 years rather than eliminated immediately, so its full liberalisation falls around 29 December 2026 — after the accessed date of this file.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) — ECTA benefits for Australian goods exporters and ECTA benefits for critical minerals and resources sectors
Sheepmeat: duty of 30% subject to 'immediate elimination of tariffs on 29 December 2022'. Wool: 'immediate elimination of tariffs on 29 December 2022'. Barley and oats: 'tariffs locked at 0 per cent on 29 December 2022'. Fresh rock lobster: 'elimination of tariffs on fresh rock lobster on 29 December 2022'. Almonds: 'immediate 50% tariff reduction within an annual quota of 34,000 tonnes'. Lentils: 'immediate 50% tariff reduction within an annual quota of 150,000 tonnes'. Avocados and cherries: 'phased elimination of tariffs over 6 years'. Pharmaceuticals: 'phased elimination of tariffs over 4 years'.
ALMONDS AND LENTILS ARE THE ONLY TARIFF-RATE-QUOTA LINES LOCATED, and both receive only a 50 PER CENT TARIFF REDUCTION, not elimination, and only WITHIN the quota. Out-of-quota treatment is not stated on this page. India's sensitive agricultural lines are protected by this structure. Avocados and cherries on a 6-year stage complete around 29 December 2028. Pharmaceuticals on a 4-year stage complete around 29 December 2026.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) — ECTA benefits for Australian goods exporters
Article 2.3(2): 'Each Party shall progressively eliminate or reduce its customs duties on originating goods in accordance with its Schedule in Annex 2A.' Article 2.3(3): 'On request of a Party, the Parties shall consult to consider accelerating the elimination of customs duties'. Article 2.3(4): 'A Party may at any time unilaterally accelerate the elimination of customs duties'. Article 2.12(2)(c) gives the Subcommittee responsibility for 'addressing issues relating to the administration and operation of tariff rate quotas'. Article 2.9(1): 'A Party shall not adopt or maintain any non-tariff measure on the importation of any good of the other Party ... except in accordance with the WTO Agreement or this Agreement.'
The unilateral acceleration right in Article 2.3(4) is unconditional. No official source located records either Party having exercised it. The non-tariff-measure discipline in Article 2.9(1) is the hook behind the leaders' 9 July 2026 reference to 'reducing non-tariff barriers'.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) — ECTA official text, Chapter 2 Trade in Goods
Post-study work rights: 'stays of up to 18 months' for diploma and trade qualifications, 'stays of up to two years' for bachelor degrees, 'stays of up to three years' for masters, and 'stays of up to four years' for doctoral graduates. Work and Holiday programme: 'Places in Australia's Work and Holiday program will be set at 1,000 per year.' Traditional chefs and yoga instructors: a 'combined total of 1,800 per year of qualified professional traditional chefs and yoga instructors'.
The Indian entry-into-force release frames the same outcomes politically as '1+ lakh Indian students eligible for post-study work visas (18 months to 4 years)', '10 lakh (1 million) jobs estimated in India', and 'annual visa quotas for Yoga teachers and chefs'. The 1,800 chefs-and-yoga figure is a COMBINED annual cap across both occupations, not 1,800 each. Coincidentally the same number as the India-UK CETA mobility quota in this pipeline — the two are unrelated and must not be cross-referenced.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) — ECTA benefits for Australia (overview)
The Mobility Arrangement for Talented Early-professionals Scheme provides 'up to 3,000 Subclass 403 MATES stream visas each year' for 'Indian nationals', for a stay of 'up to 2 years'. The fact sheet states applicants must be 'aged 30 or younger (inclusive) at the time of application', hold a 'Bachelor's degree or higher', have 'graduated within 2 years from an eligible educational institution', and have an 'overall IELTS or equivalent score of at least 6, with a minimum score of 5'. Eligible fields are renewable energy, mining, engineering, ICT, artificial intelligence, FinTech and AgriTech. Entry: '24 months from the date of first entry' with '12 months to make their first entry'. Selection is by pre-application ballot — 'Those selected in the ballot will then be invited to apply for the visa.'
MATES IS NOT PART OF ECTA. It is a separate Australian migration arrangement, is ONE-DIRECTIONAL (Indian nationals to Australia; no reciprocal Australian access to India is stated on either page), and is capped at 3,000 primary applicants per programme year. The fact sheet's statement that 'MATES will be open for applications from late 2024' is superseded by the visa page, which describes an operating ballot as at its 14 October 2025 update. No official count of MATES visas actually granted was located.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Home Affairs — MATES visa (subclass 403) page, last updated 14 October 2025, and the Home Affairs MATES fact sheet
India's Union Cabinet approved 'the signing and ratification' of a Mutual Recognition Arrangement of Authorised Economic Operators between the Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC), Department of Revenue, Government of India and the Department of Home Affairs incorporating the Australian Border Force. The arrangement aims at 'providing reciprocal benefits to accredited and trusted exporters of both the signatories in the clearance of goods by the Customs authorities of the importing country', and at 'higher facilitation to trade at the global level'.
SEPARATE INSTRUMENT FROM ECTA, approved eight months after ECTA entered into force. The release records CABINET APPROVAL TO SIGN AND RATIFY, not signature or entry into force; no official source located in this pass records the AEO MRA actually being signed or taking effect. The release does not state specific operational benefits such as reduced inspection rates or clearance times. This is the closest thing to a trade-facilitation mechanic in the corridor.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau — 'Cabinet approves Mutual Recognition Arrangement of Authorised Economic Operators between India and Australia', 16 August 2023
A Mutual Recognition Arrangement on organic products was 'signed on 24th September 2025 at Vanijya Bhavan, New Delhi' between the Agricultural and Processed Food Products Export Development Authority (APEDA) of India and the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry (DAFF) of Australia, in the presence of Commerce Secretary Sunil Barthwal, APEDA Chairman Abhishek Dev and Australian First Assistant Secretary Tom Black. It covers unprocessed plant products 'excluding seaweed, aquatic plants, and greenhouse crops', processed foods with plant-origin ingredients including certified organic third-country ingredients processed in either nation, and wine. It will 'simplify the compliance requirements and create new opportunities for the farmers and exporters'.
A NON-TARIFF measure, addressing conformity assessment rather than duty. Scale is small: 'India's organic exports to Australia reached USD 8.96 million' totalling '2,781.58 metric tonnes, led by psyllium husk, coconut milk and rice' in FY2024-25 — about 0.1 per cent of India's merchandise exports to Australia. Note WINE is inside the scope of the organic MRA as well as being the headline tariff-staging line.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau — 'India and Australia sign Mutual Recognition Arrangement (MRA) for Organic Products', 24 September 2025
The registry’s finding for this corridor is an absence: no seaport pair, shipping service, air-freight route or logistics corridor is designated by either government. What is recorded instead is a maritime-security instrument that is not trade logistics, a unilateral Indian port designation reported by an Australian document, and the treaty’s own transhipment tolerance.
No official source located in this pass — across dfat.gov.au, pib.gov.in, austrade.gov.au, pm.gov.au, trademinister.gov.au and the ECTA treaty text — designates any seaport pair, shipping service, air-freight route, inland container depot or logistics corridor for India-Australia trade. The Third Australia-India Annual Summit Joint Statement of 9 July 2026, the fullest bilateral text located, names no ports and announces no commercial maritime or aviation initiative.
THIS IS A FINDING, NOT AN ABSENCE OF SEARCHING. It matches the India-UK corridor in this pipeline, where no gateway pair is designated either. Nothing in this file should be read as identifying corridor ports or routes.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau and Prime Minister of Australia — Third Australia-India Annual Summit Joint Statement, 9 July 2026
The Third Annual Summit records a 'Memorandum of Understanding between the Maritime Border Command and the Indian Coast Guard'. The leaders separately stated that 'transparent, secure and resilient supply chains are central to our economic security'.
THIS IS A LAW-ENFORCEMENT AND MARITIME-SECURITY INSTRUMENT BETWEEN A BORDER COMMAND AND A COAST GUARD. It is not a trade-logistics, port-access or shipping measure and must not be presented as one. The supply-chain language is a statement of principle carrying no named project, route or facility.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau — Third India-Australia Annual Summit Joint Statement, 9 July 2026
'India has designated major ports in Gujarat, Odisha and Tamil Nadu as transport hubs for renewable hydrogen, green ammonia and green methanol.'
THE ONLY PORT-LEVEL DETAIL LOCATED IN ANY OFFICIAL SOURCE FOR THIS CORRIDOR, and it is a UNILATERAL INDIAN DOMESTIC DESIGNATION reported by an Australian document, not a bilateral arrangement. The individual ports are not named, only the three states, and the designation concerns future green-fuel trade, not present ECTA flows. It confers no ECTA status on those ports.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) — 'A New Roadmap for Australia's Economic Engagement with India'
The AEO Mutual Recognition Arrangement between CBIC and the Australian Border Force is the only officially recorded mechanism directed at goods clearance in this corridor. ECTA Article 4.14 direct-consignment rules govern how goods retain origin when transiting third countries.
With no designated route and no direct-service commitment, the corridor's officially documented logistics surface reduces to customs treatment plus the transhipment tolerance in Article 4.14(1)(b). Because most India-Australia cargo transits third-country hubs, that transhipment provision is the practically load-bearing logistics rule in the agreement.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau — Cabinet approval of the India-Australia AEO MRA, 16 August 2023
Signed as the 'IndAus ECTA'. Recorded here as the baseline for the four-year sequence of Indian anniversary releases, each of which is dated 2 April.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau, corroborated by the DFAT CECA page ('ECTA was signed on 2 April 2022')
Tariff reductions began the same day; Austrade records that 'Further reductions started 1 January 2023'. India described the outcome as zero customs duty on 100% of Australian tariff lines for Indian goods and preferential access on over 70% of Indian tariff lines for Australian goods. Commerce and Industry Minister Piyush Goyal said the agreement would 'eliminate Double taxation on IT services', saving 'millions and millions of dollars right now, and over a billion dollars going forward', and added: 'I appreciate Australian government for being very sensitive and considerate ... protecting the interests of the farmers and dairy sector of India.' Australia's Minister for Trade and Tourism marked the day with the statement that 'ECTA will expand trade in goods and services and deliver better economic outcomes for businesses on both sides' and 'We will build on this success with an ambitious Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement'.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau — 29 December 2022, and Australian Minister for Trade and Tourism media release of the same date
Cabinet chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi approved signing and ratification of the AEO MRA between CBIC and the Department of Home Affairs incorporating the Australian Border Force, to give 'reciprocal benefits to accredited and trusted exporters ... in the clearance of goods by the Customs authorities of the importing country'.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau
Held at chief-negotiator level, Indian delegation led by Commerce Secretary Sunil Barthwal, Australian delegation led by DFAT Deputy Secretary George Mina. The meeting 'established an institutional mechanism, first of its kind for FTAs, for regular exchange of preferential import data on monthly basis'. Market-access concerns raised covered 'okra, pomegranate, grapes, cottage cheese, macadamia nuts, lentils and avocado', TRQ administration and pharmaceutical pricing. CECA discussions were noted as having completed 'nine rounds'. Merchandise trade was described as 'reaching around 24 billion USD in 2023-24'.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau
'The data reveals export utilization at 79% and import utilization at 84%.' Merchandise trade 'surging from USD 12.2 billion in 2020-21 to USD 26 billion in 2022-23', then moderating 'to USD 24 billion in 2023-24, with India's exports to Australia growing by 14%'. April-November 2024 trade reached USD 16.3 billion. The parties committed 'to achieve the target of trade to reach AUD 100 billion by 2030'.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau
India's exports grew 4.4% during April 2024 - February 2025 against the same period a year earlier. New export lines named: Calcined Petroleum Coke, High-Capacity Diesel Generating Sets, Air Liquefaction Machinery. Benefits reported in textiles, pharmaceuticals, chemicals and agriculture, with electronics and engineering named as future potential.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau
Fifth meeting of the Ministerial Council on Trade and Investment, Parliament House, Darwin, Northern Territory, chaired by Senator Don Farrell. The communique refers to 'discussions towards concluding a Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA) with India' and states no timing.
Source organisation: Australian Government, Minister for Trade and Tourism
Held 18-23 August 2025 in New Delhi, covering 'Goods, Services and Mobility, Digital Trade, Rules of Origin, Legal and Institutional Provisions, Environment, Labour, and Gender'. The parties 'will continue the negotiations in virtual intersessions'. No 12th round date or venue was announced, and none has been recorded since.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau
Signed at Vanijya Bhavan, New Delhi between APEDA and Australia's Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry. Covers unprocessed plant products, processed plant-origin foods and wine. India's organic exports to Australia were 'USD 8.96 million' and '2,781.58 metric tonnes' in FY2024-25, 'led by psyllium husk, coconut milk and rice'.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau
Subclass 403 MATES stream provides 'up to 3,000 Subclass 403 MATES stream visas each year' for Indian nationals, stay of 'up to 2 years', selection by pre-application ballot. Date recorded is the page's stated last-updated date, not an event date.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Home Affairs
DFAT: '96 per cent of imports from India are now tariff free, rising to 100 per cent by 1 January 2026', and 'Over 85 per cent of Australian goods exports by value to India are now tariff free, rising to 90 per cent by 1 January 2026'. PIB: 'From 1 January 2026, all Indian exports are eligible for zero-duty market access.'
BOTH SOURCE STATEMENTS ARE FORWARD-LOOKING AS PUBLISHED. No official source located confirms after the event that the 1 January 2026 step took effect as scheduled. The Indian four-year release of 2 April 2026 speaks of eligibility from that date, which is the closest thing to post-hoc confirmation located, but it is not an explicit confirmation of implementation. See Not yet verified.
Source organisation: Australian Government Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) — ECTA agreement page, and Government of India, Press Information Bureau — four-year release of 2 April 2026
ECTA 'signed in April 2022, marked India's first trade agreement with a developed economy'. 'From January 2026, Indian exports enjoy zero-duty access across 100% Australian tariff lines.' India's exports to Australia 'grew by 8% in FY 2024-25'. Gems and jewellery exports rose '16% during April-November 2025'. 'Australia has offered commitments across around 135 sub-sectors.' CECA described only as 'negotiations progress towards a Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement'.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau
'During 2024-25, total bilateral trade stood at USD 24.1 billion, while India's exports to Australia recorded an 8% growth over the previous year.' India's exports 'more than doubled, rising from USD 4 billion in FY 2020-21 to USD 8.5 billion in FY 2024-25'. 'In FY 2025-26 (up to February), India's total trade with Australia stood at USD 19.3 billion.' Coverage restated: India 70.3% of tariff lines / 90.6% of trade value; Australia 100% of lines, with 98.3% duty-free immediately and 1.7% (113 lines) phased over five years.
THIS IS THE MOST RECENT INDIAN TRADE-DATA RELEASE LOCATED FOR THIS CORRIDOR, and the source of the Indian series headline in this file.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau
Prime Ministers Narendra Modi and Anthony Albanese met in Melbourne, 8-10 July 2026. They 're-affirmed their commitment to progressing an ambitious, balanced and mutually beneficial Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA)' and 'welcomed continued growth in two way trade under the India-Australia Economic Cooperation and Trade Agreement (ECTA), and reducing non-tariff barriers'. They 'reaffirmed their commitment to cooperation in critical minerals' with emphasis on 'long-term supply and offtake arrangements' and stated that 'transparent, secure and resilient supply chains are central to our economic security'. Education: the summit 'welcomed the issuance of the Letter of Intent (LoI) by the University Grants Commission (UGC) of India to Flinders University to establish its campus in Bengaluru, and the Letter of Approval (LoA) to Victoria University to operationalise its campus in Gurugram'. A National Centre of Excellence for Skilling in Mining was established in Bhubaneswar, and $10 million committed for the Centre for Australia-India Relations' Maitri grants. An MoU was recorded between the Maritime Border Command and the Indian Coast Guard.
THE LATEST OFFICIAL BILATERAL STATEMENT LOCATED, five weeks before the accessed date. It sets no CECA deadline, announces no negotiating round, and states no trade value.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau — 'Third India-Australia Annual Summit Joint Statement', 9 July 2026; Australian text at https://www.pm.gov.au/media/australia-india-joint-statement
The third item is this corridor’s largest provenance defect and the reason the two valued baskets above carry a conflict note. The last item states the condition under which every fact in this file was obtained. Where an item quotes a figure, the marker points to the source this page does carry on that subject — not to a source for the unverified figure itself, which by definition has none.
The registry records what could not be sourced as well as what could. These are open items, listed exactly as the registry states them — not gaps we have filled from memory or inference.
Numbered to match the markers in the text above. Every figure on this page traces to one of these; nothing is estimated, averaged or carried over from outside the registry.
Data verified 18 August 2026 · rendered from the corridor registry.
Developed by Amit Jain at allfrontierglobal.com
© 2026 All Frontier Global · Panchkula, Haryana, India
Developed by Amit Jain at allfrontierglobal.com · purposed.in · purposed · purposed2 · merchcomp.com · uuka.org
Compiled reference — verify current specifics at the source.
A question, a correction, or something you'd like covered. It goes straight to his inbox — no list, no newsletter.