Rendered from the All Frontier Global corridor registry · every figure below carries a numbered source
India and Bangladesh trade without a bilateral free trade agreement. No FTA and no comprehensive economic partnership agreement exists; tariff preferences run only through two plurilateral instruments, SAFTA and APTA[1][2]. What actually moves on this corridor is set by India’s import-policy notifications: three Directorate General of Foreign Trade port-restriction notifications issued between May and August 2025, recorded here by number and date[3][4]. One further measure — the 2025 transshipment withdrawal — could not be sourced to any official site and is therefore recorded as a gap rather than as a fact; that refusal is set out in full under Not yet verified. This page renders the corridor registry record: the instrument inventory, the official trade series, the commodity split, the notification regime, the land-port and rail logistics, and the figures no official source would supply.
No bilateral India-Bangladesh free trade agreement or comprehensive economic partnership agreement exists. Tariff-preference coverage between the two countries runs through two plurilateral instruments to which both are parties — the Agreement on South Asian Free Trade Area (SAFTA) and the Asia-Pacific Trade Agreement (APTA). The bilateral instrument listed by the Department of Commerce is the 'India Bangladesh Trade Agreement', which is carried on the Department's trade-agreements page alongside the SAFTA and APTA texts and the Border Haats Memoranda of Understanding; no bilateral FTA or CEPA is listed.[1]
Bilateral FTA status: no value in registry — none in force[2]
Not applicable / none in force. The PIB release states India has signed 13 RTAs/FTAs — with 'Japan, South Korea, countries of ASEAN region and countries of South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC), Mauritius, United Arab Emirates, Australia' — and 'has also signed 6 Preferential Trade Agreements (PTAs) including Asia Pacific Trade Agreement (APTA)'. Bangladesh is reached only through the SAARC/SAFTA grouping and APTA, not as a bilateral counterparty.[2]
SAFTA came into force on 1 January 2006. Its member states are 'India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan, Maldives and Afghanistan'. Bangladesh is expressly named among the SAARC member countries implementing SAFTA.[5]
This 2014 PIB release is the most recent official Government of India source located in this pass that states SAFTA's entry-into-force date together with its full membership list. No official India-specific statement of SAFTA's CURRENT operational status as between India and Bangladesh — for example, sensitive-list sizes now in effect, or utilisation rates — was located; see Not yet verified. The SAFTA treaty text is listed on the Department of Commerce trade-agreements page but the PDF could not be fetched (see Not yet verified).[5][1]
APTA's participating members are 'Bangladesh, China, India, Lao PDR, Republic of Korea, and Sri Lanka'. The Fourth Round exchange of tariff concessions took effect on 1 July 2018, expanding coverage to 10,677 tariff lines (up from 4,270 items at the conclusion of the Third Round), with an average Margin of Preference of 31.52%. India offered concessions on 3,142 tariff lines to all members. Least Developed Country members are 'entitled to greater concessions on 1,249 items with an average MoP of 81%'.[8]
Bangladesh is officially named as an APTA participating member. The source describes enhanced concessions for 'LDC members' as a class; it does not itself state which participating members hold LDC status, and no such attribution is made here. No official source was located stating whether any round of APTA negotiations after the Fourth Round has taken effect; see Not yet verified.[8]
Officially described as aspirational and preparatory, not negotiated. The most recent official statements located are: (1) Union Minister of Commerce and Industry Piyush Goyal, 7 March 2022, at the inaugural session of the India-Bangladesh Stakeholders' meet — 'India is looking to advance the Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (CEPA) with Bangladesh'; and (2) the 15th Meeting of the India-Bangladesh Joint Working Group on Trade, 26-27 September 2023 in Dhaka, whose agenda included 'ground work on commencement of Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement (CEPA)'.[6][9]
'Bangladesh is India's biggest trade partner in South Asia' — statement by Union Minister of Commerce and Industry Piyush Goyal, 7 March 2022.[6]
Recorded as a dated ministerial statement of 2022, NOT as a current fact. No official restatement of this ranking dated 2024, 2025 or 2026 was located in this pass. The same release records that India had extended three Lines of Credit to Bangladesh totalling US$8 billion and had supplied over 1 crore vaccine doses under 'Vaccine Maitree'.[6]
The India-Bangladesh Joint Working Group (JWG) on Trade is the standing bilateral trade mechanism. Its 15th Meeting was held on 26 and 27 September 2023 in Dhaka, Bangladesh. The Indian delegation was led by Shri Vipul Bansal, Joint Secretary, Department of Commerce, Ministry of Commerce and Industry; the Bangladesh delegation by Mr. Noor Md. Mahbubul Haq, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Commerce, Government of the People's Republic of Bangladesh. The agenda covered removal of port restrictions, ground work on commencement of a CEPA, harmonisation of standards and mutual recognition, supply of essential commodities, road and rail infrastructure development, regional connectivity through multi-modal transport, and strengthening of Land Customs Stations and Integrated Check Posts.[9]
Note that 'removal of port restrictions' appears on the September 2023 JWG agenda, roughly twenty months BEFORE the May 2025 DGFT port-restriction notifications recorded in mechanics. The two are separate matters and no official source links them; no inference is drawn here. No official record of a 16th JWG meeting was located; see Not yet verified.[9][3]
Primary official sources for the agreement position: [1][2][5][8][6][9][10]
The corridor’s figures come from a tabled parliamentary answer rather than from a statistical portal: for FY2023-24 (April 2023-March 2024) the Department of Commerce printed both legs, the total and the balance in a single official table[7]. Nothing on this page is subtracted — the balance column is the source’s own.
| Measure | Value | Period |
|---|---|---|
| Total bilateral trade | US$12,909 mn | FY2023-24 |
| India’s exports to Bangladesh | US$11,065 mn | FY2023-24 |
| India’s imports from Bangladesh | US$1,844 mn | FY2023-24 |
| India’s trade balance | US$9,221 mn printed in the source’s own balance column | FY2023-24 |
Total: Units US$ million, as printed in the tabled answer. Underlying series owner is DGCI&S (Directorate General of Commercial Intelligence and Statistics), cited in the answer as the data source. This is the most recent COMPLETE Indian fiscal year for which an official table gives BOTH the export and the import leg.[7]
Balance: DIRECTLY SOURCED, NOT DERIVED. The tabled answer carries its own 'Trade Balance' column and prints 9,221 for FY2023-24; no subtraction was performed here. The balance runs in India's favour across every year of the tabled series.[7]
| Period | India’s exports | India’s imports | Total | Trade balance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FY2019-20 | US$8,201 mn | US$1,265 mn | US$9,466 mn | US$6,936 mn |
| FY2020-21 | US$9,692 mn | US$1,092 mn | US$10,784 mn | US$8,600 mn |
| FY2021-22 | US$16,130 mn | US$1,977 mn | US$18,107 mn | US$14,153 mn |
| FY2022-23 | US$12,203 mn | US$2,021 mn | US$14,224 mn | US$10,182 mn |
| FY2023-24 | US$11,065 mn | US$1,844 mn | US$12,909 mn | US$9,221 mn |
| FY2024-25 (April-October 2024, partial) | US$6,219.28 mn | US$1,169.99 mn | US$7,389.27 mn | US$5,049.29 mn |
The Department of Commerce analytics portal displays India’s exports at US$10.59 bn and imports at US$1.78 bn under the label Label as printed: 'FY 2025-26 (YTD)'[11]. Printed alongside a growth figure of -7.82%. The portal states 'Data Updated for June 2026'. Printed alongside a growth figure of -11.22%.[11]
Portal note, verbatim: Note: Above values show India's Export and Import with key partner countries for FY 2025-26 (YTD), E = Exports, I = Imports. (Source: DGCIS)[11]
Each of these is a separate publication on a separate basis — one calendar-year, two quarterly, one an annual report — and they are carried side by side rather than stitched into a series.
Table 3, 'Top 20 Export Country Partners in the year 2024': Bangladesh PR ranked 8th. Columns as printed: total export value 2023 US$11.26bn; total export value 2024 US$11.48bn; share 2.59% of total 2024 exports; YoY growth 2.02%. CALENDAR-YEAR basis, not fiscal year. Bangladesh does NOT appear in Table 4, 'Top 20 Import Country Partners in the year 2024', and the publication gives no value for India's imports from Bangladesh.
Bangladesh appears in India's Top 10 Export Destinations table with the row 'Bangladesh 12.22 11.06 (-) 9.50 2.53' — India's merchandise exports to Bangladesh falling from US$12.22bn to US$11.06bn, a decline of 9.50%, at a 2.53% share of India's total exports. The US$11.06bn export figure is consistent with the US$11,065mn recorded for FY2023-24 in the Lok Sabha tabled answer.
Table 6a: 'Bangladesh PR 3.17 3.12 3.15 2.73 0.83 -0.86' — India's exports to Bangladesh of US$3.15bn in Q4 FY2024-25, ranked 6th among India's top 15 export partners at a 2.73% share. Exports only; the publication carries no corresponding import figure for Bangladesh.
India's exports to Bangladesh of US$2.90bn in Q2 FY2025-26, ranked 7th leading export country partner, QoQ increase 9.69%, YoY increase 19.70%. The report also states: 'Bangladesh PR is a key trading partner in the subcontinent and it emerged as a leading destination country with 5.72% share in total export of HS-27.' Exports only; no import figure for Bangladesh is presented.
Both baskets come from the same tabled answer and cover the same seven-month partial period. Commodity names are reproduced exactly as printed in the official answer, misspellings included; nothing is tidied.
| HS chapter | Commodity | Value |
|---|---|---|
| 52 | Cotton | US$1,520.04 mn |
| 27 | Mineral Fuels, Mineral Oils And Products Of Their Distillation; Bituminous Substances; Mineral Waxes | US$1,173.67 mn |
| 87 | Vehicles Other Than Railway Or Tramway Rolling Stock, And Parts And Accessories Thereof | US$361.1 mn |
| 84 | Nuclear Reactors, Boilers, Machinery And Mechanical Appliances; Parts Thereof | US$292.24 mn |
| 23 | Residues And Waste From The Food Industries; Prepared Animal Foder | US$253.21 mn |
Tabled in answer to part (c) of the question, which asked for 'the details of top five of import and export items with Bangladesh'. Commodity names and the spelling 'Foder' are reproduced exactly as printed in the official answer. This is a seven-month partial period, not a full year.[7]
| HS chapter | Commodity | Value |
|---|---|---|
| 62 | Articles Of Apparel And Clothing Accessories, Not Knitted Or Crocheted | US$262.99 mn |
| 61 | Articles Of Apparel And Clothing Accessories, Knitted Or Corcheted | US$141.66 mn |
| 53 | Other Vegetable Textile Fibres; Paper Yarn And Woven Fabrics Of Paper Yarn | US$106.73 mn |
| 63 | Other Made Up Textile Articles; Sets; Worn Clothing And Worn Textile Articles; Rags | US$79.04 mn |
| 15 | Animal Or Vegetable Fats And Oils And Their Cleavage Products; Pre. Edible Fats; Animal Or Vegetable Waxex | US$68.53 mn |
Commodity names and the spellings 'Corcheted' and 'Waxex' are reproduced exactly as printed in the official answer. Four of the top five import lines are textile chapters (62, 61, 53, 63). HS chapter 53 is the chapter under which jute and other bast fibres fall; the official answer does not itself use the word 'jute'. The DGFT port-restriction notifications recorded in mechanics bear on HS chapters appearing in this list, but no causal statement is made here.[7]
HS-27 (mineral fuels, mineral oils and products of their distillation): Bangladesh stated to be a leading destination country with a 5.72% share in India's total export of HS-27.[15]
Included as the most recent official commodity-level statement located for this corridor. It is a SHARE of India's global HS-27 exports, not a bilateral value, and must not be read as one.[15]
With no agreement to administer, this corridor’s mechanics are India’s own import-policy instruments. Each notification is recorded by its number and its date, exactly as the registry verified them, together with what could not be read: the DGFT notification PDFs are scanned images with no text layer, so for two of the three port-restriction measures the operative wording is absent rather than paraphrased.
The Directorate General of Foreign Trade imposed port restrictions on the import of certain goods from Bangladesh, inserted as a new Para 19 under 'General Notes Regarding Import Policy' of ITC (HS), 2022 Schedule 1 (Import Policy). Sub-para 1: 'Import of All kinds of Ready Made Garments from Bangladesh shall not be allowed from any land port', permitted only through Nhava Sheva and Kolkata seaports. Sub-para 2: Fruit/fruit flavoured and carbonated drinks; processed food items; cotton and cotton yarn waste; plastic and PVC finished goods; and wooden furniture — 'Imports from Bangladesh shall not be allowed through any Land Customs Stations (LCSs)/Integrated Check Posts (ICPs) in Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram; and LCS Changrabandha and Fulbari, in West Bengal'. Exemptions: 'The above restrictions at Sub-Para 1 shall not apply to import of Fish, LPG, Edible Oil, and Crushed stone to India from Bangladesh. Further, these restrictions shall also not apply to Bangladesh exports to Nepal/Bhutan transiting through India.'
CITATION ID: DGFT Notification No. 07/2025-26 dated 17.05.2025. This is the only one of the three 2025 Bangladesh port-restriction notifications whose operative text was obtainable verbatim from official sources in this pass, because DGFT's own notification PDFs are scanned images with no text layer. The PIB release states no reason or rationale for the measure and none is supplied here.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau (Ministry of Commerce and Industry), released 17 May 2025 9:13PM; notification text independently confirmed against the DGFT consolidated 'General Notes Regarding Import Policy', ITC (HS) 2022 Schedule 1, which carries Para 19 with the footnote 'Inserted Notification No. 07/2025-26 dated 17.05.2025' (content.dgft.gov.in/Website/General_Notes_to_Import_Policy_2025.pdf)
DGFT issued Notification No. 21/2025-26 dated 27.06.2025, titled 'Port restriction on import of certain goods from Bangladesh to India under ITC (HS), 2022 Schedule 1 (Import Policy)', followed by a 'Corrigendum to Notification No. 21/2025-26 dated 27.06.2025 on Port restriction on import of certain goods from Bangladesh to India under ITC (HS), 2022 Schedule 1' dated 17.07.2025. The Ministry of Textiles confirmed in Parliament that the 27.06.2025 measure is a 'port restriction on import of certain goods including Jute from Bangladesh'.
CITATION IDS: DGFT Notification No. 21/2025-26 dated 27.06.2025; Corrigendum to Notification No. 21/2025-26 dated 17.07.2025. The notification number, date and full subject line come from DGFT's own official index page. The operative text could NOT be obtained: the DGFT-hosted PDF (content.dgft.gov.in/Website/dgftprod/99951360-a8cb-433c-8324-efc0ce4d0511/Notification%2021%20eng_0001.pdf) and the corrigendum PDF are scanned images with no extractable text layer, and DGFT's consolidated General Notes to Import Policy had not been updated to include this notification at the time of access. What the corrigendum corrects is therefore NOT recorded. See Not yet verified.
Source organisation: Government of India, Directorate General of Foreign Trade — official notification index (numbers, dates and subject lines); substance confirmed by Government of India, Press Information Bureau (Ministry of Textiles), 'SUBSIDIZED JUTE IMPORTS', 29 July 2025, Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1439 answered by Union Minister for Textiles Shri Giriraj Singh (pib.gov.in PRID=2149713)
A further DGFT notification numbered 26/2025-26 restricted the import from Bangladesh of jute-based goods — described as 'bleached and unbleached woven fabrics of Jute or of other textile bast fibre; twine, cordage, rope of jute; and sacks and bags of jute' — so that 'Imports of these products from Bangladesh will not be allowed from any land port on the India-Bangladesh Border', permitting entry only through Nhava Sheva Seaport in Maharashtra. The measure was reported as taking effect immediately, and 'all other terms and conditions of the previous order dated June 27, 2025, will remain unchanged'.
CITATION ID: DGFT Notification No. 26/2025-26, reported effective 12 August 2025. PROVENANCE CAVEAT: the notification's own PDF on the DGFT server is a scanned image with no text layer, and DGFT's notification index page displays only a rolling window that at the time of access ended at 17 July 2025 and no longer listed notification 26. The notification's exact date and its operative wording therefore rest on the Government of India public broadcaster, not on DGFT's own text. Neither broadcaster report states an exemption for Bangladesh goods transiting to Nepal or Bhutan, and none is asserted here. See Not yet verified.
Source organisation: Existence, number and DGFT hosting confirmed from the Directorate General of Foreign Trade content server (URL above). Substance and date from All India Radio / Prasar Bharati (Government of India public broadcaster), News On Air / Akashvani News, 12 August 2025 (newsonair.gov.in/india-restricts-jute-imports-from-bangladesh-to-nhava-sheva-seaport-only) and 13 August 2025 (newsonair.gov.in/india-bans-imports-of-jute-products-and-ropes-from-bangladesh-through-land-routes-with-immediate-effect)
The Ministry of Textiles stated in Parliament that anti-dumping duty on jute goods has been in place since a notification dated 30.12.2022, imposed for a period of five years, described by the Ministry as intended to create a 'level playing field'.
The PIB release gives the date of the anti-dumping notification (30.12.2022) and its five-year duration but does NOT give the notification number, the issuing authority, the duty rates, or the specific product codes covered. Those are not recorded. The phrase 'level playing field' is the Ministry's own wording, quoted, not adopted.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau (Ministry of Textiles) — 'SUBSIDIZED JUTE IMPORTS', 29 July 2025; Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1439 answered by Union Minister for Textiles Shri Giriraj Singh
DGFT Notification No. 03/2025-26 dated 02.04.2025: 'Inclusion of Land Custom Stations Darranga as Food Import Entry Points in List "A"'.
CITATION ID: DGFT Notification No. 03/2025-26 dated 02.04.2025. Recorded because it is a 2025 land-port regime change on India's eastern land frontier issued six weeks before the first Bangladesh port-restriction notification. The notification index gives the number, date and subject line only; the operative text was not obtainable (scanned PDF). The index entry does not itself name Bangladesh, and no such attribution is made here.
Source organisation: Government of India, Directorate General of Foreign Trade — official notification index
The Bureau of Indian Standards has notified 'a total of 187 Quality Control Order's covering 769 products' under compulsory certification.
RECORDED WITH AN EXPLICIT NEGATIVE: no country is named in this release and Bangladesh does not appear in it. No official Quality Control Order, BIS order or standards measure directed at or specific to imports from Bangladesh was located in this pass. This entry is included only to record the general regime that was in force in the corridor's period, and must not be read as a Bangladesh-directed measure. See Not yet verified.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau (Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution), 12 March 2025
The Department of Commerce lists as bilateral instruments with Bangladesh the 'MoU and Mode of operation between India and Bangladesh for establishing Border Haats across the border', in a 2010 version and a 2017 version (the latter dated 8th April 2017).
The listing establishes that these instruments exist and are the Department's own bilateral border-haat framework with Bangladesh. The number of border haats currently operational, their locations and their current operating status could NOT be sourced: the Department of Commerce press release on the first meeting of the India-Bangladesh Joint Committee on Border Haats returned HTTP 404 on fetch. See Not yet verified.
Source organisation: Government of India, Department of Commerce, Ministry of Commerce and Industry — trade-agreements listing
This is the only corridor in the registry with a land frontier carrying most of the trade, so its logistics are check posts, a river protocol and two rail links rather than shipping lanes[19]. Where the registry could not resolve a detail — the states of the non-Petrapole check posts, the current status of the rail links — it records the name and stops.
Land Ports Authority of India states that Petrapole has been operational 'Since its operationalization in February 2016'; that it is 'the largest land Port in South Asia'; that 'Nearly 30 percent of land-based trade between India and Bangladesh takes place through Land Port Petrapole'; that it lies approximately 80 kilometres from Kolkata on the India-Bangladesh international border; and that it sees 'an average of 22 lakh people crossing the border post on either sides each year'. Reported throughput: FY2024-25 total trade Rs 36,633.79 crore, cargo movement 154,192, passenger movement 16,56,156. FY2025-26 (partial as displayed): total trade Rs 29,106.32 crore, cargo movement 111,210, passenger movement 6,26,941.
Petrapole's Bangladesh counterpart is Benapole, as stated on the LPAI page. The FY2025-26 figures are displayed without a month range on the page, so the portion of the year they cover is not stated and they must not be annualised or compared like-for-like with the FY2024-25 row. Trade values are in Indian rupees crore; no USD conversion is performed here.
Source organisation: Land Ports Authority of India (LPAI), Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India
Land Ports Authority of India lists the following Integrated Check Posts on the India-Bangladesh border: Petrapole, Dawki, Sutarkandi, Srimantapur, Sabroom and Darranga. LPAI states that 'There are currently Fifteen Land ports in India' across all of its borders (Pakistan, Nepal, Myanmar and Bangladesh).
ICP NAMES ONLY. The state attributions rendered alongside these names in the fetched page were internally inconsistent and are therefore NOT recorded; no state is asserted here for any ICP other than Petrapole (West Bengal), which is stated unambiguously on its own LPAI page. Operational dates and per-port statistics for the non-Petrapole ICPs were not available on the pages fetched. See Not yet verified.
Source organisation: Land Ports Authority of India (LPAI), Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India
The Second Addendum to the Protocol on Inland Water Transit and Trade between India and Bangladesh was signed on 20 May 2020 at Dhaka, to 'further facilitate the trade between two countries with improved reliability and cost effectiveness'. It increased the number of Protocol routes from 8 to 10, adding the Sonamura-Daudkhandi stretch of the Gumti river (93 km) as routes 9 and 10, and extending the Rajshahi-Dhulian-Rajshahi route to Aricha (270 km), with further extensions adding Kolaghat, Badarpur and Ghorasal. New ports of call on the Bangladesh side: Rajshahi, Sultanganj, Chilmari, Daudkandi and Bahadurabad, with Ghorasal and Muktarpur as extended ports of call. New ports of call on the Indian side: Dhulian, Maia, Kolaghat, Sonamura and Jogigopha, with Tribeni (Bandel) and Badarpur as extended ports of call.
Dated 2020. No official source located in this pass states whether all ten Protocol routes and all listed ports of call were operational in 2025 or 2026, or reports current PIWTT cargo volumes. See Not yet verified.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau (Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways), released 20 May 2020
The Haldibari-Chilahati rail link was jointly inaugurated by the Prime Ministers of India and Bangladesh during the India-Bangladesh virtual bilateral summit. Freight train operations via the restored link were subsequently announced by the Ministry of Railways.
Recorded from the PIB headline and release identity. Current operational status of the link in 2025-2026, and any freight volumes carried, were not sourced in this pass. See Not yet verified.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau (Ministry of Railways) — 'Starting of freight trains via restored Haldibari (India) - Chilahati (Bangladesh) rail link'; inauguration recorded at PIB PRID=1681502
'A portion of the Agartala-Akhaura Rail Link between India and Bangladesh was inaugurated on 1st November, 2023 with the inaugural freight train run from Gangasagar (Bangladesh) to Nischintapur (India).'
The reply states that a PORTION of the link was inaugurated. It gives no total length, gauge, cost or funding source, and no completion date for the remainder; none is supplied here. Current operational status in 2025-2026 was not sourced. See Not yet verified.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau — written Rajya Sabha reply of 8 February 2024 by Union Minister of State for Development of North Eastern Region Shri B. L. Verma
The Bangladesh interim government's Council of Advisers, chaired by Chief Adviser Prof Muhammad Yunus, announced on 28 August 2025 the closure of three land ports — Chilahati (Nilphamari), Daulatganj (Chuadanga) and Tegamukh (Rangamati) — and the suspension of operational activities at a fourth, Balla (Habiganj). The stated reason was 'to save taxpayers' money and ease the burden on the government's expenditure', with the Press Secretary describing them as unprofitable and inactive land ports created under political considerations with no actual trade activity.
PROVENANCE CAVEAT: this is a Government of India broadcaster reporting a Government of Bangladesh decision, citing a Bangladeshi news agency. No Bangladesh Ministry of Commerce, Bangladesh Land Port Authority or Chief Adviser's Office primary source was reachable in this pass. Note that Chilahati is also the Bangladesh terminus of the Haldibari-Chilahati rail link recorded above; whether the land-port closure affects the rail link is NOT stated in the source and no connection is asserted. See Not yet verified.
Source organisation: All India Radio / Prasar Bharati (Government of India public broadcaster), News On Air / Akashvani News, 29 August 2025, citing United News of Bangladesh (UNB)
Answering Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1233, Minister of State Shri Jitin Prasada tabled India-Bangladesh trade for FY2019-20 through FY2023-24 plus an April-October 2024 partial. FY2023-24: exports US$11,065mn, imports US$1,844mn, total US$12,909mn, balance US$9,221mn. Top five Indian exports April-October 2024 led by cotton (US$1,520.04mn) and mineral fuels (US$1,173.67mn); top five Indian imports led by non-knitted apparel (US$262.99mn) and knitted apparel (US$141.66mn). Data source cited as DGCIS.
Source organisation: Government of India, Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Department of Commerce
Notification No. 03/2025-26 dated 02.04.2025.
Source organisation: Government of India, Directorate General of Foreign Trade — official notification index
All kinds of ready made garments from Bangladesh barred from any land port, permitted only via Nhava Sheva and Kolkata seaports. Fruit and carbonated drinks, processed food items, cotton and cotton yarn waste, plastic and PVC finished goods and wooden furniture barred from all LCSs/ICPs in Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram and from LCS Changrabandha and Fulbari in West Bengal. Fish, LPG, edible oil and crushed stone exempted; Bangladesh exports transiting India to Nepal and Bhutan exempted. Inserted as Para 19 of the General Notes Regarding Import Policy, ITC (HS) 2022 Schedule 1.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau (Ministry of Commerce and Industry)
News On Air reported that the External Affairs Ministry stated the restriction was a reciprocal response to Bangladesh imposing trade restrictions on Indian yarn and rice, and that it was aimed at restoring equal market access between the two countries.
ATTRIBUTED CHARACTERISATION, NOT ADOPTED. This is a Government of India broadcaster's report of what the Ministry of External Affairs stated. The MEA primary text could not be obtained — mea.gov.in returned HTTP 403 on every fetch attempt in this pass, including the media-briefing transcripts. The PIB release announcing the notification itself states NO reason for the measure. The reciprocity framing is recorded here as a reported ministerial position with its date, and is not asserted as fact. See Not yet verified.
Source organisation: All India Radio / Prasar Bharati (Government of India public broadcaster), News On Air / Akashvani News, 18 May 2025 7:28 PM
Titled 'Port restriction on import of certain goods from Bangladesh to India under ITC (HS), 2022 Schedule 1 (Import Policy)'. The Ministry of Textiles subsequently confirmed in Parliament that this measure is a port restriction on import of certain goods including jute from Bangladesh. The operative text was not obtainable from official sources in this pass.
Source organisation: Government of India, Directorate General of Foreign Trade — official notification index; substance confirmed at PIB PRID=2149713 (Ministry of Textiles, 29 July 2025)
'Corrigendum to Notification No. 21/2025-26 dated 27.06.2025 on Port restriction on import of certain goods from Bangladesh to India under ITC (HS), 2022 Schedule 1'. What the corrigendum corrects could not be determined — the PDF is a scanned image with no text layer.
Source organisation: Government of India, Directorate General of Foreign Trade — official notification index
Answering Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 1439, Union Minister for Textiles Shri Giriraj Singh recorded the DGFT port restriction of 27.06.2025 on import of certain goods including jute from Bangladesh, and an anti-dumping duty on jute goods notified on 30.12.2022 for a period of five years, described as intended to create a level playing field.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau (Ministry of Textiles)
Bleached and unbleached woven fabrics of jute or of other textile bast fibre, twine, cordage and rope of jute, and sacks and bags of jute from Bangladesh barred from any land port on the India-Bangladesh border and permitted only through Nhava Sheva Seaport in Maharashtra, with immediate effect; all other terms and conditions of the 27 June 2025 order stated to remain unchanged.
Source organisation: Notification hosted on the Directorate General of Foreign Trade content server (existence and number); date and substance from All India Radio / Prasar Bharati, News On Air / Akashvani News, 12 and 13 August 2025
The Council of Advisers chaired by Chief Adviser Prof Muhammad Yunus announced closure of Chilahati (Nilphamari), Daulatganj (Chuadanga) and Tegamukh (Rangamati), and suspension of operational activities at Balla (Habiganj), stating the purpose was to save taxpayers' money and ease the burden on government expenditure.
Source organisation: All India Radio / Prasar Bharati (Government of India public broadcaster), News On Air / Akashvani News, 29 August 2025, citing United News of Bangladesh
Bangladesh ranked 7th leading export country partner for India in July-September 2025, with a quarter-on-quarter increase of 9.69% and a year-on-year increase of 19.70%. The review also records Bangladesh as a leading destination with a 5.72% share in India's total export of HS-27. No import figure for Bangladesh is presented.
Recorded as a dated official statistical release. It covers a quarter that falls entirely after the May-August 2025 port-restriction notifications, but the release draws no connection between them and none is drawn here.
Source organisation: DGCI&S, Commercial Intelligence Division, Ministry of Commerce and Industry, Government of India
The Department of Commerce's 2025 Year End Review sets out India's trade-agreement activity across North America, Europe, South Asia, West Asia, Africa and Northeast Asia. Bangladesh is not referenced in any capacity, and neither SAFTA nor APTA appears. The Department's 2024 Year End Review (released 26 December 2024) likewise contains no mention of Bangladesh, SAFTA, APTA, border haats or land ports.
RECORDED AS A SOURCED ABSENCE, not as a finding about policy. Both Year End Reviews were fetched and searched in this pass. The absence is recorded because these documents are the Department's own annual summary of its trade-agreement work; no inference is drawn from it.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau (Ministry of Commerce and Industry); 2024 Year End Review at PIB PRID=2088048
'India's Trade Partnerships Powering Global Integration and Growth' covers the India-EU FTA concluded January 2026, India-UK CETA 2025, India-Oman CEPA December 2025, India-New Zealand FTA 2025, India-EFTA TEPA effective October 2025, India-UAE CEPA 2022, India-Australia ECTA April 2022 and India-Mauritius CECPA 2021, plus ongoing negotiations with the USA, Israel, ASEAN, Mexico, Canada and the GCC. Bangladesh does not appear anywhere in the document.
RECORDED AS A SOURCED ABSENCE. Corroborated by the Department of Commerce paper 'India's Free Trade Agreements (2025-26) - Key Highlights' (commerce.gov.in/files/2026-03/FTAs%20achievement%20v6%205%20pm.pdf), in which Bangladesh also does not appear.
Source organisation: Government of India, Press Information Bureau (Ministry of Commerce and Industry)
The TIA portal, sourced to DGCIS and marked 'Data Updated for June 2026', displays India's exports to Bangladesh at US$10.59bn (-7.82%) and imports from Bangladesh at US$1.78bn (-11.22%), under the note: 'Above values show India's Export and Import with key partner countries for FY 2025-26 (YTD), E = Exports, I = Imports. (Source: DGCIS)'.
The period label is ambiguous and these figures are NOT used as this file's headline. See trade.current_period_partial and Not yet verified.
Source organisation: Government of India, Department of Commerce — Trade Intelligence and Analytics (TIA) Portal
The first item is the corridor’s largest gap and the reason a measure that belongs in Mechanics and open issues is not there. Where an item quotes a figure, the marker points to the source this page does carry on that subject — not to a source for the unverified figure itself, which by definition has none.
The registry records what could not be sourced as well as what could. These are open items, listed exactly as the registry states them — not gaps we have filled from memory or inference.
Numbered to match the markers in the text above. Every figure on this page traces to one of these; nothing is estimated, averaged or carried over from outside the registry.
Data verified 18 August 2026 · rendered from the corridor registry.
Developed by Amit Jain at allfrontierglobal.com
© 2026 All Frontier Global · Panchkula, Haryana, India
Developed by Amit Jain at allfrontierglobal.com · purposed.in · purposed · purposed2 · merchcomp.com · uuka.org
Compiled reference — verify current specifics at the source.
A question, a correction, or something you'd like covered. It goes straight to his inbox — no list, no newsletter.